Memory that Moves Me: Co-Writing a Song

images

Once I helped write a song.

I had suggested the idea to one of my most amazing favorites in the world of rock and roll, Ariel Aparicio.

This man has inspired me in many ways since I first came across his music in 2009.

Now thinking about this current path I’m on – I wondered so many times about the things I am inspired by – that empower me – and then I said to myself “don’t you remember that song you once helped write? You know the one by your favorite artist? How many people get to do THAT?!”

Granted – I wrote the lyrics. He wrote the music and did the vocals.

When I first heard the song played back (on my birthday back in 2010) – I remembered how happy it made me, how I felt so liberated by the words, and how it applies today to the one hero in my life that continues to make every single day worth living  – my husband.

In those deep moments, that sometimes swell when things are not great, when my energy is low, when I wish I could simply hide – I think of things I’ve done – accomplishments – and remember to continue to strive towards my goals, and to become a hero to others, if even if my most difficult of moments, I simply feel like waddling off into the corner of oblivion and never being noticed.

The song is called “I Need You”.

Take a listen to this goal I once accomplished – and continues to remind me today – ANYTHING is possible.

I Need You (Lyrics by Jennifer Stephens, Music and Vocals by Ariel Aparicio)

This lonely heart, it cried alone.

These tears, they dried – dried to stone.

This bed it, it felt no soul – of my – my very own.

 

So lonely. It tore my life apart.

 

In truth I never knew

My life and then came you.

These scars are fading.

These scars are fading.

 

My scars are fading.

 

I need you.

 

I spent so many days waiting

For a hand to take my soul sayin’

You’re not alone in your corners prayin’

I will take your – your pain away

 

In truth I never knew

About peace and then came you.

These scars are fading.

These scars are fading.

 

My scars are fading.

 

I need you.

 

Lesson learned by knowing you

The way your words they teach me truth

I can’t go on, I can’t be new

These lessons learned by knowing you

 

You only can mend my broken heart

 

In truth I never knew

About peace and then came you.

 

These scars are fading.

My scars are fading.

 

In truth I never knew

My life and then came you

 

These scars are fading

These scars are fading

My scars are fading….

 

I need you.

I need you.

I need you.

I need you.

7 comments

  1. That is so awesome! And looking back on our accomplishments is important. I started keeping a gratitude journal ater reading Ann Voskamps 1000 gifts…. I don’t write in it nearly as much as I’d like to, but when I’m feeling down or angry… I often get it out and read over my list… it’s comforting.

    1. Thank you so much for commenting on this … it is so comforting isn’t it? In those moments when I’m just at my darkest I remember things like this – and I get so happy inside. This in particular is in my top 5 all time best experiences ever!

    1. Wow this means so much to me, thank you! I get into these ruts, thus how I started this blog (a journey into the unknown I never thought I would take – and how I’m digging myself out into a better path) and remember that I had done this, and with my favorite artist, which I thought was impossible … it brings me so much hope. Actually listening to the song again today I cried. Thank you for responding – I’m so happy you found this inspiring – and please share when you do co-write, would love to hear 🙂

  2. By the way to clarify, I have no idea why but whenever I respond to people here it’s saying my main blog is my Stephens Family Blog … it isn’t. I actually do not post there, just here on The Overcoming … 🙂

Leave a Reply

